Skip to content

Leaping the divide : 2013 – 2014

December 31, 2013

Ultimately it’s a divide that’s man-made.  One year to another. But it’s also something that has caught seemingly the whole city and town-dwelling world.  It actually is something of a miracle how two people from different countries and cultures exchanged a Happy New Year greeting this dawn.

Happy New Year 2014!

Shubh Shubh Naya Saal, the little one from Assam replied when I wished her a Happy New Year. Same meaning, different languages. ‘Actually, an even better meaning perhaps. Shubh is like auspicious. Happy New Year! said the doorman of the building, when I was expecting the usual Good Morning. And so it goes….

2014 years from a time that someone first decided to start a calendar to name the day – what was it? 1/1/1? Today, despite the many other calendars in existence, the Gregorian calendar takes precedence. Almost everyone we meet observes today as a New Year.

I found myself catching the drift of the feelings people have on the New Year. There is a wish to be with those we love, or those we feel really close and comfortable with. There’s the expectation that we should be somewhere where the tempo is high gear, of having many invitations to choose from, exclamation points, getting drunk, feeling something that we haven’t felt before, and then the downer when it isn’t quite what was expected, or smiles when it was.

It’s wise to enjoy what happens. It’s freeing to do just as you please.  That’s the true celebration. I loved the ceremony yesterday with my mother and some friends chanting in prayer, followed by ‘payt pooja’ [prayer to the stomach, a phrase in Hindi that means, eating].  I found myself deciding to let some things go and wondering if that was the right choice. The sense of relief and ‘no tightness in tummy’ told me that it was. How we tie ourselves down to our own expectations! Worse, to the expectations of others.

Today, at the New Year’s Day of New Moon, we’ll have a Taiji, meditation and eating session to balance and harmonize our energies with a group of wonderful people. In my heart will be the ones who are not physically with me.

They say that today’s New Moon is a special one, as the moon is closest to the earth. It is a time to let go of all that does not serve you.  Let’s see what else I let go of! The leap is freeing. I’ll land somewhere I enjoy or fly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 1, 2014 4:25 am

    Thank you, Meenakshi.
    I am one, who are not physically but in my hear with you. Happy New Year 2014.

Leave a Reply

