Skip to content

How important is happiness really?

June 3, 2013

I remember a time when the sisters got the giggles. Laughter is not always comfortable for people who are not in the joke. Specially when there is really no reason to laugh. It just bubbles up. I remember being told to stop laughing. It may have happened just once, but it sticks in the mind.

There was a day when my daughter pointed out, that when she was laughing, I reminded her that it was time to do homework.  We absorb what we resist.

So, I did not resist when my daughter said that I often stopped her with reminders to work when she was laughing. It hasn’t happened again, but if it does, I hope she will always feel free to tell me.

We pay lip service to the phrase:”I just want you to be happy.”

What we neglect to voice are the limiting thoughts passed on from one generation to another:
I want you to be happy PROVIDED you…are successful in my eyes, do your homework that teachers feel you should do, forget the present and think only of a chimera that we call the future.

I see that, and decided to take a leap. I really want my child to be happy…if that is what they choose. If I see them happy, I will smile, and surrender.

Do you have the courage to put your happiness where your smile is?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2013 12:10 am

    Oh Meenakshi, I so love this. I was drawn by your title, and love the depth and simplicity of the message you’ve learned from your own experience. Thank you!

    • June 9, 2013 4:37 pm

      Thank you OM. I’m so happy you came by and let me know. It enhances the joy of writing.

  2. June 9, 2013 3:49 pm

    This is a really lovely post, Meenakshi. How wonderful that you could be so attuned to your daughter. Thinking about the times we limit happiness. How we try to cling to things for ourselves, rather than celebrating the other’s immense freedom.

    • June 9, 2013 4:38 pm

      I’m still floating in these waters, Kathy, as we are all growing into a family where everyone is legally an adult! How our emotions sometimes lead and at other times need to be led….

    • June 9, 2013 5:44 pm

      That is a good way of putting it.

Leave a Reply

