Skip to content

Loving mom

June 2, 2011

A couple of months back, my mom broke a hip, and then another [don’t ask!]. Since then, we’ve been in rehabs, hospitals, surgery and therapies. Now she is walking, with a walker, but agile as ever.

She is in her mid-80s, a frail lady with sparkling eyes, sense of humor and silent ways of conveying wisdom. The doctors tell us that they are amazed at her recovery and how she has no health issues.

Through being with her, I am learning how both coexist in nature – decay and renewal, and how this can happen at any age.

To the world, I am serving my mom as I have not left her side, staying with her day and night in hospital, rehab and home.

Read that line again. Serving? I scoff.

How many children get to spend that much time with their mother?

Whose serving whom?

I can only feel the love, and immense gratitude and sadness that my mom had to go through this, for us to have this time together without anyone calling on my time, all secure in the knowing that with this emergency, the best place for me to be, was by my mom. Never in our entire life have my mom and me spent this much quality and quantity time exclusively together.

And in this time, we’ve been connecting to our Mother Earth daily through the Gaia Minute.

Mother Earth, earthly mom, daughter-who’s-also-a-mom.

Can you feel the love there?

Oh and by the way, there’s physical proof of how this is more healing than serving.  A few days ago, I realized that my back, injured months ago from two falls, is now all right, despite my taking no doc’s advice about its care, no normal precautions because I was half-sleeping on lumpy hospital beds by my mom’s side, jumping up each time she woke or a nurse or doc burst into the room.

Blessings to the world, what wonders it shows us!

Blessings of mothers, what lessons they impart with eyes twinkling through injured bodies.

Serve ’em? Just find time to be with them, loving, tending, sharing, feeling.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2011 7:37 am

    ❤ Mata ❤ Ma ❤

  2. June 3, 2011 4:08 pm

    You’ve shared this journey with Ma in such a sacred manner. There are differences between generations. But truthfully this is no barrier.

  3. June 11, 2011 12:32 pm

    I wonder if I’ll ever fully realize what a mother gifts her children

Leave a Reply

