Skip to content

When do you burst into laughter?

December 16, 2010

Laughter

Irreverent

irrepressible

Coming in bursts, or giggles

Making me double up in stitches or throw my head back and open up into the world.

What makes you laugh?

Do you allow yourself to laugh openly?

Do you try to be correct when you laugh? Ladylike? Manly?

Can you take the laughter of children?

Their giggles?

I was laughing today, on seeing my Squidoo

laugh heartily ~ it’s good for your heart!

and I caught myself thinking –is it okay to laugh at my own lens? Gosh, the tricks we play on ourselves to stop laughing.

Stop by and leave a joke if you do..

4 Comments leave one →
  1. shanmugananda permalink
    December 16, 2010 11:41 pm

    Yesterday tears, today Laugh!
    Whom we call Laughing Buddha was actually a priest and he always laughed and told others too to laugh. This too leads to wisdom.

    • December 17, 2010 5:12 pm

      Yes, I was also struck by this! I just write what comes to me; and was laughing when I saw that it was following a Tears blog! In a way, they’re both about love…

      I didn’t know about the Laughing Buddha; will read up on him. I realize I’ve had to grow up to really enjoy and appreciate laughter. It’s amazing how much Dalai Lama laughs! And your face too, so much laughter. Very light…

  2. December 18, 2010 5:24 pm

    You have a beautiful and tender embrace of words, Meenakshi, and I thank you for expressing them in your way. Even your name, too, has poetry in it!

    Your lead-in to the Beatitudes was very moving, and helped put words to my similar feelings about them. Many, many thanks.

    I will return for more inspiration and quietness. Namaste.

    PS–I found your blog via your comment to CG, another wonderful being.

    • December 19, 2010 9:17 am

      Bob, thank you for visiting and sharing stillness.
      I saw your website and it is really inspiring.
      Yes, CG is a wonderful being. He’s got such a gently powerful presence, sharing his essence in his words.I’m glad we met through his blog. The wonders of the world -wide- web!

Leave a Reply

