Skip to content

Fathers and mothers~ a remembrance

September 6, 2010

Today is a special day because eight years ago on this day several things happened but there was only one event:

My father- in- law passed away

My husband lost a father and was told that he would never forget that

My mother-in-law lost a husband whom she had felt would continue to provide companionship as they grew old together.

My sister-in-law lost a bearing that she felt deeply.

My children informed me that their grandfather is now an angel

In each of these happenings are hallways of feeling, memory, emotion, sensation, transcendence.

Today is special because the loss of my father is very close to me still, as I discover the spaces that his memory lives on.

Today is special because i am able to speak to each of my mothers by phone:
My mother who bore and raised me
My mother in law with whom I have a connection that is strangely twin-like

And there are two I speak to in my heart:
My earth mother who inspires, instructs, nourishes me.
A beloved being, Swami Shraddhasudhasharanda, who came from the mountains, with a simple message that Earth is calling out for us to connect to her in prayer. He has now returned to the mountains, after inspiring The Gaia Minute and The Gaia Minute Call. In the call, I connect to both – Mother Earth and Swamiji.

Today is special because The Gaia Minute Call was begun one year ago this week. Every Monday, a call over a phone line, where people can get together, who have known each other through cyberspace, then greet each other, and then meditate together. The levels of connection here are just amazing.

For me, the consciousness of Gaia is like a framework, within which I can wander those hallways, discover new paths, and fly out of the frame.

On this anniversary – of my father-in-law’s passing and a Gaia consciousness arising, I marvel at the peaceful joy that pervades all. It certainly seems like love!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 1:16 pm

    Divine Love

  2. shanmugananda permalink
    September 7, 2010 1:56 am

    Bringing back my memories too. I never met my father in law as he left this world before the marriage. My mother left just before my daughter’s birth. My father was staying with me and all of a sudden he too left this world. My mother in law was staying with her son abroad but visited us at the time of my daughter’s wedding and stayed with us until her demise in 2005. All these people guided us and our children as and whenever possible. No one can replace their loss.
    Our swami of course always with us and guiding us all.
    Thanks you very much for these words binding our hearts.

    • September 8, 2010 12:21 am

      Sanmugan, it’s lovely to meet you here. It’s strange how even those we don’t meet can have such an impact on our lives, and how you still think of the father-in-law you couldn’t meet.
      I can just imagine the sorrow of having lost both your parents, and it’ s fortunate that you had the presence of your mother-in-law with you.
      Yes, Swamiji is here, and often I feel he is smiling!

  3. September 8, 2010 4:06 pm

    Blessings, Meenakshi. Holding you quietly in my heart as you fulfill the divine prophecy.

  4. Barbara permalink
    September 11, 2010 7:39 am

    I love your big heart, Meenakshi, it tenderly holds and shares the memories of and appreciation for the gifts of so many, humans, as well as all the life in the biosphere, and Gaia herself. (((hugs)))

  5. September 16, 2010 10:57 pm

    Kathy, Barbara, thank you for your presence

Leave a Reply

