Skip to content

The diya from the Ganga reaches the Pacific Ocean

May 31, 2010

In a few hours from now, the Lantern floating will commence in Hawaii. I was planning to give a memory for my father-in-law, and now have given a request for a lantern for my father.
Lanterns on the Shinnyo ocean of peace
When we took my father’s ashes high into the hills of Uttaranchal, nearer the source of the River Ganga, the river seemed so still, that I could not believe it was as swift flowing as everyone was telling me. Usually, to float the ashes, people take a boat to the middle of the river.

“Here,” said one of the ashram visitors, “the current is swift even near the banks. You won’t have to take a boat.”

My cousin and I chanted the sublime prayers of the Shinnyo-En that I have recently come home to. It was a moment when time stood still even as the River Ganga, deep and yet clear-flowing, seemed to listen.

Dusk was setting in,and I wondered aloud:”Really? Is the current really that swift? The river seems so still. I can’t see any ripples.”
Diya on the River Ganga
Just then, a little diya floated by. Before my wondering eyes, it came as if from nowhere, and went swiftly down river. I felt that my father had answered me.

And in a few hours, my tribute to him will be floating down the waters of Hawaii, blessed by the guardians of Shinnyo-en, the borderless garden of peace.

Who would have thought that a lantern that floated on the River Ganga will find its way in the oceans of Hawaii? The Pacific Ocean. Promoting peace.

The synchronous events surrounding my father’s passing, are wondrous!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2010 7:25 am

    Meenakshi,

    What a beautiful tribute to your father, to honor, and to listen to the still voice from within, while observing the silent swiftness of the river current.
    All rivers lead to the ocean, as all life lead to death, and return to the creator…
    Thank you for sharing this wonderful, loving part of your journey!

    I am Love, Jeff

  2. June 2, 2010 6:48 am

    Hi Jeff, thank you for bringing a special clarity to the blog. Your words about rivers leading to the ocean are specially poignant for me.

Leave a Reply

