Skip to content

Coming home

March 27, 2010

“Many moons ago,” said the traveler, ” possibly many lifetimes ago, I cast out to sea in a little boat. I had a mission, and I knew that with the gentle presence of a great teacher at my back, it would be done.
I also knew it would be very difficult. ”
“Then why..?” but the question was cut short.

“What I did not fully grasp is how little I would know when it was accomplished, about whether the task was accomplished or not.”

Reclining Buddha-Mahaparinirvana

The Buddha gives his last discourse, the Mahaparinirvana Sutra


The rest of the story was drowned out as it whooshed by like a train coming into the station. I had a vision of a boat that was flowing, but stayed at the heart of the reclining Buddha, as if it was not moving at all.
Then there was another -of a boat that had finally reached a still place, that was breaking down. like the body that was rowing it, when a hand reached out, and reeled it in.

This time, the boat went through the triangle formed by the Buddha’s head resting on his arm.
The traveler had come home.

This is my story, but is it also your story?
It asked to be told.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Barbara permalink
    March 28, 2010 3:05 pm

    Hi Meenakshi, I (Barbara from Gaia) found you in the comments on Kathy’s blog – I hope you won’t mind that I added your blog to my blogroll, too! 🙂

    I like your story and the imagery in it – it’s kind of how it is with me, I’m not sure I accomplished whatever it was I so firmly set out to do all those years ago, yet somehow I feel the universe pulled me along to where I needed to go, even if I’m still not sure just yet where (or what) “home” is. Is home where we started from, what we knew when we were little and so much more aware it seems?

    I’m looking forward to keeping in touch. Are you planning to add a subscription box to your blog?

    Much love to you…

  2. March 28, 2010 10:46 pm

    Barbara, thanks for the tip [subscription widget duly installed], encouragement [I’ve added your blog to my blogroll too] and ..making me laugh.

    I laughed about the ‘home’ bit. I’ve moved so many times physically and no doubt etherically….and now these cyberspace moves [note that I even moved from Geocities , not too long ago that I’ve often felt my home is wherever I am. A tortoise.

    BUT I do have to remember, that this time, it was a home that I felt I had left a long time ago. A spiritual home, for want of a better term…

    AND when friends come from the other home we shared, it’s like family visiting. Thank you for doing that.

  3. April 7, 2010 10:09 pm

    Meenakshi,

    so here I am… a little bleary eyed for I was off to bed.

    I loved your imagery and the flow of your story, you musing, and it is a topic that seems to be going around. For Terrill had commented on my blog that she has had the same thought in the recent days…

    So Life and death can do that to one, stir the questions up, making life and death a conscious thought for a while…

    I am Love, Jeff

    PS Adding you to my blog roll too!

    • April 9, 2010 12:02 pm

      Thanks for stopping by at the edge of sleep, Jeff…there are so many days when I don’t ‘need’ to write; because all the words have already found willing fingers. That’s what I love about that river of thought that we’re all plugged into!

      Thx for adding my blog to your roll…I’d better keep these fingers working!

  4. April 16, 2010 5:39 am

    Great read!

    I really enjoyed your site, Keep posting!

    Dan 🙂
    http://www.eachoneteachwon.com

Leave a Reply

