Skip to content

Breaking the pot

March 17, 2010

Master, said the student excitedly, I have mastered this! I finally know how to fill up empty space with words of glistening wisdom!

It had taken him long to learn, and he was justifiably proud of himself.

Wonderful! said the teacher, with great compassion in her eyes. Now break the pot and make another one.

Happy or sad? Joyful or unhappy?

Quick! What’s the FIRST, unguarded reaction?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 19, 2010 1:59 pm

    I feel like I’m breaking the pot of Gaia right now. And crying about it… (Even though usually I’d say: let’s just throw those pots of the ground!) Sigh… Love your blog here, Meenakshi.

  2. March 20, 2010 1:06 pm

    Tears flow as they need to. I remember reading in your last blog on Gaia, that you sensed this would happen. Sometimes the tears are also when we see that we are right.

    I know/feel as I write this, that you have already moved on. Thank you for capturing those moments of tears as beautifully as you capture those moments of snowy spring!

Leave a Reply

